Acrylic Painting

Date: Wednesday
Time: 10:00am – 12:00
Venue: artsmart Studio Beaconsfield
Tutor: Jonathan Newey
Cost: £145 – 8 weeks (Code: 4016JN)


Select Amount to pay:



ABOUT THIS COURSE
Painting with acrylic

On this course you will be shown how to paint landscapes and still life with the versatile medium of acrylic. Using photographs supplied by the tutor you will be shown techniques such as using the paint thick and thin, glazing, colour mixing, different brush marks, painting, flowers and landscapes in an impressionist style. Each painting will be spread over two weeks and will be demonstrated, step by step, by the tutor. No previous experience necessary. Suitable for all abilities.

Wednesday 7 April
Dramatic coastline seascape

Wednesday 14 April
Continuation of dramatic coastline seascape

Wednesday 21 April
Still life with flowers

Wednesday 28 April
NO class this week

Wednesday 5 May
Continuation of still life with flowers

Wednesday 12 May – class moved to Thursday 13 May
Summer landscape with buildings

Wednesday 19 May
NO class this week

Wednesday 26 May
Continuation of summer landscape with buildings

Wednesday 2 June
NO class this week

Wednesday 9 June
Imaginary landscape

Wednesday 16 June
NO class this week

Wednesday 23 June
Continuation of imaginary landscape

Materials List:
Surface:
Either acrylic paper, canvas or canvas board or Watercolour paper 140lb ‘Not’ (cold pressed) surface (standard Bockingford is ideal)
Maximum A3 in size
If bringing sheets then you will need a board to tape it to (not necessary if bringing a pad)
Paint:
Acrylic tubes or pots
Ultramarine Blue
Burnt Sienna or Burnt Umber
Raw Sienna
Cadmium Yellow
Cadmium Red
Alizarin Crimson
Titanium white
Brushes:
Acrylic brushes vary in size depending on manufacturer so a size 8 from one manufacturer could be a completely different size in another so I have given sizes below as the width of the group of hairs on the brush:
1 x ¼ inch wide round acrylic or oil painting brush
1 x ½ inch wide round acrylic or oil painting brush
1 x size 2 & 1 x size 4 round watercolour brush
1 x palette knife
Palette to mix paint on such as a tear off paper palette or a few paper plates
Tissues or rag
2B pencil
Water container
Old shirt to wear when painting
ZOOM participants
Please make sure you have everything out and ready to use at the start of each online session.
The reference photo will be emailed to you before each session.

About the Tutor: Jonathan Newey

css.php